Review: Education.Com – A Fun Website For Parents & Kids!

Good morning!

Over the past couple of weeks, we’ve sort of begun looking out for schools for Ms.G. She would be starting Kindergarten next year and the application processes begin by the end of this year. I was one of those kids who loved going to school. Both my parents were working in 9-5 jobs and it used to get really boring to sit at home by myself the whole day. So I definitely looked forward to going to school every day and would often wait eagerly for the summer holidays to end soon!

Both my husband and I have fond memories of our school lives; in fact, there has been many instances when we can be observed arguing vociferously about whose school is better! I do hope that whichever school we pick, our daughter enjoys it just as we did all those years back.

Education these days has no doubt undergone a revolution. Although traditional teaching systems and methods are still valid, nevertheless, as with everything else in life, the way we teach has also undergone changed with the times. Most kids nowadays are very comfortable in using gadgets, be it tablets or smartphones. While it is essential to limit and monitor screen time, I do believe that the very same gadgets that enamour our children can also be used successfully in teaching them as well.

There are a number of resources online which offer help and guidance to parents and teachers alike. One such great educational website that I’ve discovered recently happens to be education.com. There is a plethora of worksheets, songs, videos, lesson plans, games and activities available on this website and they are neatly categorized according to your child’s age. At times, it is quite hard to come up with interesting and useful things to do with your child. But with education.com at your fingertips, you’ll never be at a loss for activities that engage your child productively.

My daughter is only 3; so she is a bit young for most of the activities on the website, though she definitely loves the educational songs as of now. However, I also tutor my helper’s 6 year old child who has been schooling on and off and she finds the science, English and math worksheets fun as well as beneficial.

There is no denying the fact that a parent is a child’s first teacher. Having said that, as a first time mom and as someone who hasn’t had a formal training or experience in teaching, it can get a bit overwhelming for me when I want to teach something to a child. Education.com goes a long way in helping me organize my thoughts and it aids me in progressing through my teaching plans in a structured manner. So if you haven’t checked it out yet, I would strongly recommend that you do so right away!

And as an additional bonus I have a really cute activity to share with you all, thanks to Education.com. Simply click on the PDF attachments included below in this post, print them out and have fun with your child!

This fun under the sea maze is great for exercising those fine motor muscles. Get more practice for your kindergartner with activities, games, and songs at Education.com!

Click on the link below to download a free maze from Education.com:

Kindergarten_maze_under_the_sea

Key:

Kindergarten_maze_under_the_sea_answers

Leave a comment